Skip to content

Purchase products featuring the Immaculate Heart at our store.

While the image of the Sacred Heart of Jesus symbolizes Christ’s love for us, the Immaculate Heart of Mary symbolizes our love for Christ. Mary’s immaculate heart burns with love for her son. The seven sorrows:

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon over the Infant Jesus. (Gospel of Luke 2:34)
  2. The Flight into Egypt of the Holy Family. (Gospel of Matthew 2:13)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus for Three Days. (Luke 2:43)
  4. The Meeting of Jesus and Mary along the Way of the Cross. (Luke 23:26)
  5. The Crucifixion, where Mary stands at the foot of the cross. (Gospel of John 19:25)
  6. The Descent from the Cross, where Mary receives the dead body of Jesus in her arms. (Matthew 27:57)
  7. The Burial of Jesus. (John 19:40)

are symbolized by the the seven swords which also recall the words of Simeon “and thy own soul, a sword shall pierce.”

Her heart is girded with a garland of white roses for purity, a symbol also echoed in the background. Surrounding the entire image is a halo of sanctity, here taking the form of a starburst.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: